Tuesday, April 8, 2014

Texas Weekend

Hey folks! Here's my take on Texas race weekend!  The Trucks were off this time.

Friday was the Nationwide race. Rookie Chase Elliot won with 38 laps led, followed by Kyle Busch with 38 laps led, Kyle Larson with 1 lap led, Kevin Harvick with 101 laps led and Dale Earnhardt. Jr.  with 15 laps led. Rounding out the top-10 were Matt Kenseth with lap led, Regan Smith, rookie Ty Dillon and Elliot Sadler. David Starr, JJ Yely and rookie Ryan Sieg finished 15th, 16th and 17th with 2 laps led each.  Trevor Bayne finished outside the top-10 for the first time this season after he had a blown tire relegated him to a 23rd place finish.

Sunday was rainy, so the Cup race was delayed until Monday afternoon.  Joey Logano with 108 laps led, followed by Jeff Gordon, who led 40 laps, Kyle Busch who led 10 laps, Brian Vickers and rookie Kyle Larson. Rounding out the top-10 were Greg Biffle, Matt Kenseth, Clint Bowyer, Paul Menard and Tony Stewart, who led 74 laps. Denny Hamlin, was 13th after leading 20 laps.  Brad Keselowski led 85 laps before finishing 15th due to a speeding while exiting pit road after a late-race pit stop.  Reed Sorenson led 1 lap before finishing 33rd.  Kevin Harvick also led 1 lap before a blown engine relegated him to 42nd place.  Dale Earnhardt, Jr. had first 43rd in seven years after he had fiery crash when he hit the wet grass, but he was fine.

The Cup has had a different winner every race so far this year.  They had the Cup race scheduled for Sunday instead of Saturday as they normally would due to basketball.  The Final Four was in Texas and they had a game Saturday night. Will Darlington produce another different winner? Come back next week to see my take on the races at the "track too tough to tame", as they say.


  1. That's kind of exciting that each race has had a different winner. :)

  2. It may be due to a new championship rule. Online, folks speculate about how many winners this season will produce.