Monday, November 10, 2014

Phoenix Weekend

Hey folks! Here's my take on the second Phoenix race weekend. All the series raced this time.

Friday night was the Truck race. Erik Jones, the defending race winner and pole-sitter won with 114 laps led, followed by Matt Crafton, Cole Custer, Ryan Blaney and Ben Rhodes.  Rounding out the top-10 were Darrell Wallace, Jr. with 12 laps led, John H. Nemechek, Austin Dillon, Johnny Sauter and rookie Tyler Reddick. Matt Crafton has a 25 point lead on Ryan Blaney with 1 race to go. The power went out in Phoenix area that night, so they called the race at lap 126/150 due to the lights at the track going out. This had delayed the race earlier, but that was before halfway, the point at which the race is official.  This was the only night race of the weekend

Saturday was the Nationwide race. Brad Keselowski won with 9 laps led, followed by pole-sitter Kyle Busch with 187 laps led, Elliott Sadler, rookie Ty Dillon and  rookie Chase Elliott, who's Rookie of the Year and has a 52 point lead, which means he'll be champ, as long as he has no  huge penalties.  Rounding out the top-10 were Erik Jones, Brian Scott, Brendan Gaughan, Trevor Bayne and Regan Smith with 9 laps led. Jeremy Clements led 1 lap and finished 11th. It's been a year since Trevor Bayne revealed his MS diagnosis to the world. Chase Elliott, Regan Smith, Brian Scott, Elliott Sadler, Ty Dillon and Trevor Bayne will be the Nationwide top-6, as 6th place Trevor Bayne's over a race ahead of 7th place rookie teammate Chris Buescher.

Sunday was the Cup race. Kevin Harvick won with 264 laps led, followed by Jeff Gordon, Matt Kenseth, Brad Keselowski and Denny Hamlin with 24 laps led. Rounding out the top-10 were Joey Logano with 17 laps led, Kurt Busch, Dale Earnhardt, Jr. with 4 laps led, Greg Biffle and Marcos Ambrose. David Regan was 25th with 2 laps led. Rookie Michael Annett was 26th after 1 lap led. Kurt Busch's ex-girlfriend accused him of domestic violence and claimed he wanted a gun so he could kill himself, so he's under investigation. The Chase final four's Kevin Harvick, Joey Logano, Denny Hamlin and Ryan Newman.

Come back next week for my take on the season finale at Homestead.

No comments:

Post a Comment